Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Lutheran Family Services Rocky Mountains is comprised of up to 18 members, half of which are appointed from the Rocky Mt. Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA); and the Rocky Mt. District of the Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod (LCMS) combined. The remaining members generally include other representatives of communities in Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah.

The Board meets quarterly to conduct the business of the corporation. Terms of office are three years with the possibility of serving a maximum of three terms.


Chair: Ms. Marjorie (Margie) Versen
Vice-Chair Board Development: Ms. Lori Ann Fujioka Knutson
Vice-Chair Finance: Mr. Tom Brook
Vice-Chair Program Services: Ms. Nga Vuong-Sandoval
Vice-Chair Resource Development: Mr. Jeff Solomonson
Secretary: Mr. Eric Stolp

Directors (name/profession)

Ms. Maribel Alvarez, New Mexico
Vice President
Mr. Tom Brook, Denver Metro Colorado
Contractual Fractional Services Management
Mr. Joe DesJardin, Southern Colorado
Civil Engineer
Ms. Carol Garrington, Denver Metro Colorado
Speech Language Pathologist
Ms. Amy Johnson, Northern Colorado
Project Manager/Engineer
Pastor Nicolé Ferry, New Mexico
Senior Pastor
Ms. Lori Ann Fujioka Knutson, Denver Metro Colorado
First Assistant Attorney General, Contracts and Procurement Unit
Ms. Margarita Reyes, Denver Metro Colorado
Lay Leader
Mr. Jeff Solomonson, Northern Colorado
Financial Consultant
Mr. Eric Stolp, Southern Colorado
Financial Consultant
Ms. Marjorie (Margie) Versen, Denver Metro Colorado
Retired Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Frank Virginia, Denver Metro Colorado
Director of Technical Services
Ms. Nga Vuong-Sandoval, Denver Metro Colorado
U.S. Refugee Advisory Board Project Manager
Mr. Peter Whitmore, Denver Metro Colorado

Ex-Officio Board Members

The Rev. James Gonia Bishop, Rocky Mt. Synod, ELCA
Mr. James Horan President & CEO, Lutheran Family Services Rocky Mountains

Board Portal